loading
From wood to wonders
HASSLACHER NORICA TIMBER, from wood to wonders

Southwest Library

Washington DC USA

© StructureCraft
© StructureCraft

Southwest Library Washington DC
A library as a knowledge pavilion

The Southwest Neighborhood Library is a well-attended knowledge center for all residents and visitors to the US capital Washington. It is located at 900 Wesley Place SW in the Southwest Waterfront neighborhood of Washington, DC and is a part of Public Library of the District of Columbia.

Founded in 1896, the library system comprises of 25 neighborhood libraries and one central library. In 1972, the central library on Mt. Vernon Square was replaced by the large, modern Martin Luther Jr. Memorial Library. This new main library is eight times larger than the original Carnegie library. In March 2017, the Martin Luther King Jr. memorial library closed for extensive modernization and reopened in 2020. The project received the LEED Gold certification for environmental design.

The special thing about this ""Southwest Library"" project is the prominent folding structure of the roof construction in combination with the glass facade. The HASSLACHER Group supplied visual quality spruce glued laminated timber with all the steel connections pre-assembled at the factory, as well as a threefold surface treatment. The ""Brettstapel""-ceilings were produced by the StructureCraft company. The all visible wooden surfaces inside the building, such as ceiling elements, beams and columns in combination with the linear design give the library a very clear and appealing appearance.

The beams for the roof structure were delivered to Canada in September 2019. There, the ceiling elements made of glued laminated timber and stacked timber elements were largely prefabricated in order to make assembly on the construction site easier and as quick as possible. The supports and girders for the rest of the wood and steel construction were delivered directly to the construction site, so the wood construction could be completed in spring 2020.

Project information
Location: Washington DC USA
Customer: StructureCraft
Architect: Perkins&Will
Structural analysis and design: StructureCraft
Builder: DC Southwest Library
Year of construction: 2020
Products used: glued laminated timber with high quality varnish, CNC and pre installation of individual steel members

loading
From wood to wonders
HASSLACHER NORICA TIMBER, from wood to wonders

Southwest Library

Washington DC USA

© StructureCraft
© StructureCraft

Eine Bibliothek als Wissenspavillon

Die Southwest Neighborhood Bibliothek ist eine Zweigstelle der District of Columbia Public Bibliothek im Southwest Waterfront-Viertel von Washington, DC. Sie befindet sich am 900 Wesley Place SW und ist ein gut besuchtes Wissenszentrum für alle Einwohner und Besucher der US-amerikanischen Hauptstadt Washington.

1896 gegründet, umfasst das Bibliothekssystem 25 Nachbarschaftsbibliotheken und eine Zentralbibliothek. Im Jahr 1972 wurde die Zentralbibliothek am Mt. Vernon Square durch die große, moderne Martin Luther Jr. Memorial Library ersetzt. Diese neue Hauptbibliothek ist achtmal größer als die ursprüngliche Carnegie-Bibliothek. Im März 2017 wurde die Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library für eine umfassende Modernisierung geschlossen und 2020 wieder eröffnet. Das Projekt erhielt die LEED-Gold Zertifizierung für Umweltdesign.

Das Besondere an diesem Projekt "Southwest Library" ist die hervorstechende Faltstruktur der Dachkonstruktion in Kombination mit der Glasfassade. Die HASSLACHER Gruppe lieferte Brettschichtholz der Holzart Fichte in Sichtqualität, zudem erfolgte eine werkseitige Vormontage aller Stahlverbindungen sowie eine teilweise dreifache Oberflächenveredelung. Die Brett-Dübel-Decken (Brettstapeldecken) produzierte das Unternehmen StructureCraft. Die allesamt sichtbaren Holzoberflächen im Inneren des Gebäudes, wie Deckenelemente, Träger und Stützen in Kombination mit dem geradlinigen Design verleihen der Bibliothek ein sehr klares und ansprechendes Erscheinungsbild.

Die Lieferung der Träger für die Dachkonstruktion nach Kanada erfolgte bereits im September 2019. Dort wurden die Deckenelemente aus Brettschichtholz und Brettstapelelementen weitestgehend vorgefertigt, um die Montage auf der Baustelle zu erleichtern und so rasch wie möglich zu gestalten. Die Stützen und Träger für die restliche Holz-Stahlkonstruktion wurden direkt an die Baustelle geliefert und so konnte die Holzkonstruktion im Frühjahr 2020 fertiggestellt werden.

Projektinformation
Standort: Washington DC USA
Kunde: StructureCraft
Architekt: Perkins&Will
Statik und Konstruktion: StructureCraft
Bauherr: DC Southwest Library
Baujahr: 2020
Verwendete Produkte: Brettschichtholz mit 2-fachem Anstrich bzw. 3-fachem farblichen Anstrich, Vormontage von indivuduell gefertigten Stahlverbindungen