loading
From wood to wonders
HASSLACHER NORICA TIMBER, from wood to wonders

Campus Cherrywood

Dublin, Ireland

© HASSLACHER group | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER group | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER group | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER group | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER group | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER group | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER group | born2design | MOLA Architecture

The canopy measures approximately 25 x 19 m in total and covers a "Sunken Garden" on the grounds of the "Campus Cherrywood", a business park for innovative start-ups and companies in the field of biotechnology and medical technology located close to Dublin, Ireland.

The impressive free-formed grid shell glulam structure has been produced and supplied by HASSLACHER NORICA TIMBER, whereby the planning and production of the three-dimensional glulam components to the edge of the structure was particularly challenging.

The individual spruce glulam components were produced in a 3D press in Kleinheubach, Germany and subsequently processed into the final shape with a precise 5-Axis-CNC machine. The whole canopy structure consisting of free-formed glued laminated timber components as well as free-formed glass rests on three V-shaped steel columns and was designed by the architect Benjamin Thomas of MOLA Architecture.

A film team accompanied the production process of the complex components in Kleinheubach and the assembly on the construction site in Dublin, Ireland. The short video provides interesting insights into production and is available on the HASSLACHER Group's YouTube channel.

Project information
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Client: SÖDRA
Architect: MOLA Architecture
Year of construction: 2021
Products used: 20 m³ free-formed timber

loading
From wood to wonders
HASSLACHER NORICA TIMBER, from wood to wonders

Campus Cherrywood

Dublin, Irland

© HASSLACHER Gruppe | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER Gruppe | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER Gruppe | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER Gruppe | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER Gruppe | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER Gruppe | born2design | MOLA Architecture
© HASSLACHER Gruppe | born2design | MOLA Architecture

Die imposante Konstruktion aus Holz und Glas mit einer Größe von etwa 25 m x 19 m überdacht einen abgesenkten Garten „Sunken Garden“ auf dem Gelände des „Campus Cherrywood“, einem Business Park für innovative Startups und Unternehmen aus den Bereichen Bio- und Medizintechnik. Das Design trägt die Handschrift des Architekten Benjamin Thomas, Architekturbüros MOLA in Irland.

Die freigeformte Gitterstruktur aus Brettschichtholz ist zweifach gekrümmt und mit ebenfalls freigeformten Glasmembranen bedeckt, welche gleichzeitig als Dachhaut dienen. Das gesamte Bauwerk wird von lediglich drei v-förmig angeordneten Stahlstützen getragen, die einerseits die vertikalen, gleichzeitig jedoch durch ihre spezielle Anordnung auch die horizontalen Lasten aus Wind und Erdbeben übertragen.

Die HASSLACHER Holzbauteile GmbH & Co. KG hat das Brettschichtholz produziert und geliefert, wobei die Planung und Produktion der freigeformten außenliegenden Brettschichtholzbauteile eine besondere Herausforderung darstellten. Die individuellen Bauteile aus Brettschichtholz Fichte wurden in Kleinheubach mit der sogenannten 3D-Presse verklebt und im Anschluss auf der 5-Achs-CNC-Abbundanlage millimetergenau in die vom Architekten gewünschte Form gefräst.

Der Produktionsprozess der komplexen Bauteile in Kleinheubach sowie die Montage auf der Baustelle im irischen Dublin wurden mit einem Filmteam begleitet. Das kurze Video erlaubt interessante Einblicke in die Produktion und ist auf dem YouTube-Kanal der HASSLACHER Gruppe abrufbar.

Projektinformation
Standort: Dublin, Irland
Kunde: SÖDRA
Architekt: MOLA Architecture
Baujahr: 2021
Verwendete Produkte: 20 m³ Brettschichtholz Freiform der Holzart Fichte